All members and newcomers are invited and encouraged to attend the Annual Meeting at 9:15 a.m. in the Parish Hall on November 24. This one-hour occasion will undertake key business matters, including the election of the Vestry Class of 2022, parish life highlights since the last annual meeting, review of a 2020 operating budget draft, and a state-of-the-parish address from the rector. In accordance with parish by-laws, your Vestry Nominating Committee is composed of members who will rotate off the vestry in December, the Class of 2019: Linda Khumalo, Julia McDonald, Murray McKay, Kurt Patton, and Gavin Wigginson. In conversation with the Rev. Ollie V. Rencher, Rector, the committee arrived at a slate for the five-person Class of 2022 through recommendations and self-nominations. A special eNews including the slate of nominees will be emailed at a later date. The information will also be available at the information center under the flatscreen monitor in the main hallway.

In addition to the candidates presented by the committee, the parish by-laws provide for nominations to be made from the floor at the annual meeting. If you wish to nominate a member to serve, you must receive his/her permission before nominating, and the nominee should be present at the meeting. To serve on the vestry, one must be a confirmed Communicant in Good Standing, as defined by Title I, Canon 17 of the Episcopal Church, who in the preceding year has received communion at least three times and been faithful in working, praying, and giving for the spread of the Kingdom of God. In addition, one must be a member of Grace-St. Luke’s Episcopal Church, eighteen years of age, a giver of record, and not employed by the Parish, Diocese, or Grace- St. Luke’s Episcopal School.

Five members will be elected at the annual meeting on November 24 to serve on your vestry for a three-year term. The five (5) persons receiving the highest number of votes shall be elected; provided however, that if there is a tie vote for the fifth (5th) position, on a second vote the person receiving the most votes is declared the winner. (GSL By-laws Article II, Section 3.) At the end of the three-year term for which elected, an incumbent shall become ineligible for re-election for three (3) years; provided however, said ineligibility in excess of one (1) year may be waived by a majority vote at the Annual Meeting of the Parish, and if for less than one (1) year, in addition to a majority vote at the Annual Meeting, a waiver from the Bishop must be obtained. GSL By-laws Article II, Section 3.