Our mission

The Outreach Committee helps develop, coordinate and promote opportunities for Grace-St. Luke’s parishioners to continue the work of Christ through actively serving the world in God’s name.

This means using every means available to help parishioners understand the Gospel imperative to feed the hungry, clothe and shelter the needy, care for the sick, and visit the imprisoned, as well as the Christian call to be an instrument of healing in our broken world.

GSL 2018 GSL Grant recipients

The mission of the Grace St. Luke’s Outreach Committee is:

. . . to help develop, coordinate, and promote opportunities for Grace-St. Luke’s parishioners to continue the work of Christ through actively serving the world in God’s name. This means using every means available to help parishioners understand the Gospel imperative to feed the hungry, clothe and shelter the needy, care for the sick and visit the imprisoned, as well as the Christian call to be an instrument of healing in our broken world.

In furtherance of this mission, the Outreach Committee provides grants each year to qualified nonprofit organizations to help them help others in the community.  One of the criteria for selecting grantees is their willingness to provide volunteer opportunities for parishioners. Listed below are the Calendar Year 2018 GSL Outreach grantees, the amounts of their grants, the Outreach liaison for each recipient, and the point of contact for information regarding volunteering with the grantee. Please consider volunteering at one of these outstanding organizations.

Alzheimer and Dementia Day Services operates dementia-specific therapeutic activity adult day programs at two centers in the Memphis area.  Amount of GSL grant: $3,000.  GSL Liaison: Barbara King at mimikingx6 [at] outlook [dot] com Volunteer Contact:  Ruthann Shelton at rshelton [at] adsmemphis [dot] org  or Stacey Sears at ssears [at] adsmemphis [dot] org      

Church Health provides health care and wellness services to low-moderate income uninsured patients. Amount of GSL grant: $3,000.  GSL Liaison:  Christopher Cullum at ctcullum [at] gmail [dot] com. Volunteer Contact: Sharon Jones at joness [at] churchhealth [dot] org

Citizens for Community Values offers assistance to victims of sex trafficking and exploitation. Amount of GSL grant: $3,000.  GSL Liaison: Phillip Ramsey Rule at ramseyrule87 [at] gmail [dot] com Volunteer Contact: Lacey Craig at lacey [at] ccvmemphis [dot] org 

Community of St. Therese of Lisieux provides a safe home with the services / goods needed to build physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually healthy women who will re-enter society following battles with prostitution and addiction. Amount of GSL grant: $3,000.  GSL Liaison: James Drummond at drummondjamesf [at] gmail [dot] com  Volunteer Contact: Sandra Ferrell at lisieuxcommunity [at] gmail [dot] com

Community Table nurtures an organic community garden that serves the Mid- South Food Bank and provides food to others in need.  Amount of GSL grant: $2,000.  GSL Liaison: Patti Newsome at pattinewsom [at] gmail [dot] com.    Volunteer Contact: Sarah Taylor at communitytablememphis [at] gmail [dot] com

Door of Hope provides permanent supportive housing to chronically homeless disabled individuals. Amount of GSL grant:  $2,000.  GSL Liaison:  Phillip Ramsey Rule, ramseyrule87 [at] gmail [dot] com Volunteer Contact: Porsha Goodman at pgmaria4 [at] gmail [dot] com 

Dorothy Day House of Hospitality provides temporary housing and support services for homeless families. Amount of GSL grant: $4,000.  GSL Liaison: Patti Newsome at pattinewsom [at] gmail.com [dot] Volunteer Contact: Sister Maureen Griner at mgriner [at] aol [dot] com

Exchange Club Family Center is a volunteer service organization that has child abuse treatment and prevention as a focus area. Amount of GLS grant: $3,000.  GSL Liaison: Ruthie Lentz, rlentz [at] comcast [dot] net  Volunteer Contact: Jennifer Balink jbalink [at] exchangeclub [dot] net

Gilda’s Club was created in honor of Saturday Night Live’s Gilda Radner and provides a place where men, women, and children with any type of cancer and their family and friends can come together for free support and education while learning to live with the disease. Amount of GSL grant: $3,000.  GSL Liaison: Betsy Black at betsybmemphis [at] yahoo [dot] com. Volunteer Contact: Laurel Niday at laurel [at] gildasclubmemphis [dot] org

Memphis Child Advocacy Center provides forensic interviews, victim advocacy, and therapy services for victims of child abuse. Amount of GSL grant: $4,000.  GSL Liaison: Rivers Powers at rivers.powers [at] gmail [dot] com  Volunteer Contact: Mark Jordan at mjordan [at] memphiscac [dot] org

Memphis Teachers Residency is a Faith based program to nurture teachers at high need urban schools.  Amount of GSL grant: $3,000.  GSL Liaison:  James Drummond at drummonjamesf [at] gmail [dot] com Volunteer Contact: Hayley Moore at hayley [at] memphistr [dot] org

Memphis Inter-Faith Association operates a multi-faceted program delivering services to low income Memphians.  Amount of GSL grant: $4,000.  GSL Liaison:  Bill Pichette at picwill [at] rocketmail [dot] com  Volunteer Contact: Linda Marks at lmarks [at] mifa [dot] org

Neighborhood Christian Centers guides those in need toward stability and sustainability through Christ-centered ministries and empowerment programs. Amount of GSL grant: $4,000.  GSL Liaison: Ruthie Lentz, rlentz [at] comcast [dot] net Volunteer Contact: Jeremy Gray at jaergray [at] gmail [dot] com

Porter Leath provides a continuum of high quality early childhood and social service programs including Books from Birth, which promotes kindergarten readiness and strengthens family bonds by providing high quality, age appropriate, monthly books for children throughout Shelby County from birth to age five. Amount of GSL grant: $2,000.  GSL Liaison: Erin Shoughrue at eshoughrue [at] bellsouth [dot] net  Volunteer Contact: Elizabeth Souder at esouder [at] porterleath [dot] org

Saint Columba—Camp Able serves diversely-abled children including those with Down syndrome, autism, ADHD and similar challenges. Amount of GSL grant: $3,000.  GSL Liaison:  Bill Pichette at picwill [at] rocketmail [dot] com  Volunteer Contact: Suzanne Cantwell at suzanne [at] saintcolumbamemphis [dot] org

Saint George's Summer Camp GSL provides funding for fourteen low-income children to attend the St. George’s summer academic enrichment camp. Amount of GSL grant: $2,000.  GSL Liaison: Katie Savage, katierue516 [at] yahoo [dot] com  Volunteer Contact: Maggie Murff at mmurff [at] sgis [dot] org

Samaritan Counseling Center provides faith-based counseling through a ministry of healing to those seeking a balance of emotional, relational and spiritual health.  Amount of GSL grant: $3,000. GSL Liaison: Katie Savage, katierue516 [at] yahoo [dot] com Volunteer Contact: Brooks Moneypenny at brooks.monypeny [at] samaritanmemphis [dot] org or Earl Donelson at Earle.donelson [at] samaritanmemphis [dot] org

Pastoral Care Request

Fill out my online form.
Sitemap